Living Dead Girl: Elizabeth Scott 

Heartbreaking.

If you have read The Cellar than you will also love Living Dead Girl. By love I mean care deeply for their characters so that you wish you could mend their situation. (Basically love, right?)

“Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared. 

Once upon a time, my name was not Alice. 

Once upon a time, I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.

Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.

This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.”– Goodreads blurb

This is an extremely short read coming in slightly over 150 pages but with large text. The first person narrative in this book brings you in to how broken Alice has become, and you will feel for her.
What surprised me as I read reviews once I finished the book is that many people said this should not be considered a Young Adult novel. This book is narrated by a 15 year old girl, and although it contains mature topics I do think that younger audiences should read this book and take in the different emotions of the world. (Hence myself probably being considered a younger audience although I am very used to broken narrators and deeper topic books)
I wouldn’t say this is a ground breakingly good read. But, it is still a read that gives you perspective and makes you feel.
I had a few scenarios I was expecting for the end of the book and the one that happened ripped my heart in two, but also gave me closure… I have no idea how to feel!
If you ever want a tender, short read– pick up this book!
One thought on “Living Dead Girl: Elizabeth Scott 

Leave a Reply

