Book To Movie: Paper Towns

Book by John Green, Screenplay by Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber

I read this book a couple years ago when I went on a huge John Green reading marathon. I liked Paper Towns but not as much as The Fault In Our Stars. The nerdy boy friend group in this book was probably my favorite thing. I liked the mystery of Margo, but just not enough to become fully engrossed in the book. So, as the book progressed and he learned more about Margo and searched for her I found myself more or less shrugging it off.

Enough of the book! Here is how I thought the movie adaptation did! (I am not going to be very nitpicky about this because I decided not to re read the book)

The movie has a great vibe. Upbeat music and voice-overs get me pumped every time! The movie soundtrack is 100! The actor they have for Quentin is the same guy who playes Isaac in the Fault in Our Stars…. I do not know how I feel about that. Honestly, he is a great actor and I think he plays Q well but I am not too appreciative of the two large roles in movies from the same author. (sorry!) Ansel Elgort who played Gus is also in this film for a total of maybe a minute and a half! This movie is going to cater to TFIOS fangirls/boys.

The best friend group of Ben, Radar, and Q is just as good as the book. They just blend even in the movie. I really appreciate how the movie kept all the back stories on Radar and Ben! Everyone who was cast actually looks like a teenage high school student, good job Paper Towns!

I don’t think this is one of those movies where those who have read the book will rage. I am pretty sure in the book Q completely unhinges his door, but unfortunately we don’t get to see that in the book… the note is sort of just sitting there (unless I was looking away from the screen and missed a 5 second door removing montage). But, that wasn’t a very important aspect anyways!

It is an adorable movie that those who have and those who have not read Paper Towns should consider watching if they want a young, funny, and (slightly) touching movie!

3 thoughts on “Book To Movie: Paper Towns

  1. Heather M. says:

    I watched the movie and was very disappointed in it. It was pretty boring. I was going to read the book to compare the two, but after seeing the movie I just couldn’t make myself read the book.

    Like

    • abookedupblog says:

      Darn, I would agree that without having read the book the movie is not overly unique or special. I definitely feel the movie caters to fans of the book and those who enjoy carefree, more simplistic movies.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heather M. says:

        I’m not a huge fan of John Green either. I read Looking for Alaska and it was okay and I saw The Fault in Our Stars. I may have laughed while watching the movie. I know, I am a horrible person.

        Like

Leave a Reply

